A Little Help From My Friends

I have always been somewhat of a loner when it comes to exercise. Don’t get me wrong, I have taken my fair share of group classes and I love that format. I find that I am far more competitive with myself than others (Except with my mother, I would crawl over a finish line before I let her beat me. All in good fun of course!). I have always been a runner and running tends to be a solo sport for the most part. You can run with groups but ultimately, you are trying to improve yourself.

Back in August 2012, my husband told me about a gym his friend was attending called Orange Theory Fitness. I went to the first class and I was hooked! The theory behind the workout is to stay in the fat burning zone “orange zone” as long as possible throughout the class. That way, you continue burning calories for up to 48 hours after the class. There is one instructor and the class maxes out at 24 people depending on the gym. It is nice getting the one-on-one when necessary. The best part about the gym are the people. I have made some great friends in my classes. We encourage one another and push one another when necessary. I have found that having that accountability really helps!

That accountability also carries over to outside the gym. I have a second set of friends through My Fitness Pal and Fitbit who compete with one another and help motivate one another. I am convinced losing weight is much more fun with friends and family! If you are starting a nutrition and fitness program or you are thinking about starting, reach out to your friends and family. You may be surprised who will jump on board with you!

2 thoughts on “A Little Help From My Friends

  1. Having friends to help motivate each other is definitely great – I currently have a friend preparing for her wedding and we love having a natter about what each is up to fitness wise 🙂 The ‘orange zone’ idea is interesting – have you noticed a difference since going to the gym vs. training by yourself?

    • Hi there! Weddings are a great motivator! I have noticed a huge difference with Orange Theory but mainly because you have to cancel within 12 hours of the class or you pay $10. I have never missed a class because I am not paying just because I am lazy 🙂 I also have friends that go, so that motivates me to be there. I struggle trying to get out the door to run by myself.

Leave a Reply

