FIT hits the PAN Fridays – (No Sugar!) Chocolate-Chip Pie

I have been a baking fool! Chocolate Covered Katie (I mentioned her site in my Favorite Sites page) has amazing recipes at a fraction of the fat and calories compared to their unhealthy twins. Do not run away after you read the first ingredient. I promise, you will not be disappointed 🙂 I made this last night and I had trouble stopping at one slice. Enjoy!

healthy-chocolate-chip-pie_thumb

 

 

 

 

 

 

(photo from Chocolate Covered Katie)

(No Sugar!) Chocolate-Chip Pie

(vegan and gluten-free)

    • 2 cans white beans or garbanzos (drained and rinsed well) (500g total, once drained) I used dried garbanzo beans that I had cooked in the pressure cooker (less sodium)
    • 1 cup quick oats (or certified-gf quick oats)
    • 2 cups pitted dates (300g) (I recommend Sunmaid, as they’re softer and easier to blend.) I used Publix brand because they were half the price and they blended well
    • 4 stevia packs, or 1/8 tsp uncut (or 4 tbsp sugar)
    • 3/4 tsp salt
    • 2 tsp baking powder
    • 1/2 tsp baking soda
    • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
    • 2/3 cup milk of choice
    • 3 tbsp oil (canola, veg, or coconut) I used coconut oil. 
    • 1 tbsp pure vanilla extract
    • 1 cup chocolate chips (see nutrition link below, for companies that make sugar-free chocolate.) I was short chocolate chips so I subbed a 1/2 c. low-fat unsweetened coconut

Preheat oven to 350 F, and grease a 10-in springform pan (or two 8-in round pans). Combine all dry ingredients (except chips) in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, combine all wet ingredients. Put around 1/3 of the dry and 1/3 of the wet ingredients into a high-powered food processor like a Cuisinart (NOT a blender) and blend until super-smooth (where there are no date pieces to be seen). Scoop out into a bowl, and repeat the process twice more with the rest of the ingredients. (If you have an absolutely giant food processor, you can do it in two batches, as opposed to three.) Stir in the chocolate chips, and pour into the pan or pans. Bake 35-40 minutes (or 30 if you want it really gooey in the middle), then let cool at least 15 minutes before trying to remove it.

Notes:
I was able to fit all of the ingredients in my 14 cup food processor in one batch but I did add them a little at a time just to ensure the dates completely blended.
I also used a 10-inch springform pan and I cut 16 slices. I like to keep portion sizes small in our house.

Nutrition Info (with my changes and portion sizes)

Calories – 180
Sugar – 14g
Fat – 6g
Protein – 3g
Sodium – 220mg
Cholesterol – 0mg

 

 

 

One thought on “FIT hits the PAN Fridays – (No Sugar!) Chocolate-Chip Pie

Leave a Reply

