FIT Hits the PAN Friday – Plant-Strong Pizza

My husband and I are on Day 5 of the Engine 2 Diet – 28 Day Challenge. Eating healthy is not a chore but doing it without any animal products has been a bit more challenging. We did not realize how much cheese is in the foods we eat! Sometimes, it is not even visible in the main ingredients. Overall, we have enjoyed this challenge and hope to maintain this lifestyle after the challenge is complete.

Pizza is a staple in our house. We almost always make it at home unless we make a special visit to a local pizzeria, Marchello’s. After eating their pizza we could not even consider pizza from a chain restaurant. If you had told me I would eat pizza without cheese at any point in my life, I would have laughed at you. Yet pizza without cheese is our only option on the Engine 2 Diet. We decided to get creative the other day and make a plant-strong pizza; here is what we came up with!

Side note: We were in a hurry when we purchased our pre-made crust and just grabbed Boboli Whole Wheat. This crust is not Engine 2 approved as it contains cheese and milk. We have since purchased an approved crust at Whole Foods. For a list of approved foods go here.

Cafe’ Ivey Plant-Strong Pizza

1040584_495081940578558_2021755459_o

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Serves 8
Nutrition info may vary depending on your product choices and toppings
Calories 141/Fat 4 g/Sugar 3 g/Protein 6 g/Sodium 217 mg/ Cholesterol 0 mg

Ingredients

1 Boboli Whole Wheat Pizza Crust or Engine 2 approved crust of your choice
1 cup Whole Foods 365 Marinara Sauce or Engine 2 approved sauce of your choice
1 large portobello mushroom cap diced
1 cup zucchini or yellow squash diced
1 oz sliced jarred banana pepper rings
1/2 red pepper diced
1/2 cup onion diced (we used a mix of red and sweet yellow)
1 cup fresh spinach
1 oz raw cashews finely grated (I used a coffee grinder but a food processor would also work)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 450 or temperature on pizza crust directions
Spread the sauce evenly over the entire crust
Layer the spinach over the sauce
Spread the rest of the vegetables evenly over the entire pizza
Sprinkle the grated cashews evenly over the entire pizza
Bake for 8-10 minutes or follow direction on pizza crust package
Once finished baking, remove from oven and let pizza sit for about 5 minutes
Slice and serve!

You can use any vegetable combination for this pizza to make it your own! Get creative!

For more Engine 2 Diet Recipes, check out their website. If you would like to join in on our challenge, check out my page on Facebook!

 

 

4 thoughts on “FIT Hits the PAN Friday – Plant-Strong Pizza

  1. My husband and I have been following a plant-strong diet for a year and a half. We’re not perfect with the oil and sugar, but we only do those on occasion. Still, this diet has made a dramatic impact on our health. My husband’s cholesterol and blood pressure went from high to normal, we’ve both lost weight and we feel great. I think it’s awesome that you and your husband are going plant-strong – more power to you guys!

    Your pizza looks delish, by the way! I’m going to have to try it. And if you want to mix things up, I just made a yummy pizza that if you use an approved crust and really rinse the artichoke hearts or use ones not packed in oil is Engine 2 Approved. Here’s the link if you’re curious: http://honkifyourevegan.com/2013/07/15/pesto-kale-artichoke-pizza/

    Celeste 🙂

    • Thanks! Pizza has been a great adventure for us. I never thought I would eat pizza without cheese (gasp!). We both love it! I am not 100% we will stay vegan after the challenge but I am pretty certain I will continue to apply most of what I have learned. I have learned so much and it has been a great example to set for my clients. I do not miss meat, but I miss the convenience of just throwing a meal together. Everything takes so much preparation! I will have to try your pizza. My hubs does not like artichokes but I love them! I will definitely be checking your blog regularly so I can stay motivated!

      • I hear you with the prep work! I’m a lazy cook, and that killed me when we first went plant-based too. I have to admit, however; that it’s become much easier. I actually find that if I have the right ingredients around that I can throw together a plant-based meal quickly now. It took me a long time to get to this point, however. In the beginning I always had to follow recipes and everything was novel and there was usually a lot of chopping so I spent a lot of time in the kitchen. Now I might just make rice or quinoa, throw some Braggs on it, top it with sautéed veggies, beans, nuts and tahini and call it dinner. This is quick, simple and yummy! I think if you stayed with it long enough that you would get to this point too. Even if you don’t stay with it, however; at least you tried it out. I’m sure that your clients will benefit from your experience. Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend. Celeste 🙂

Leave a Reply

