FIT His the PAN Friday – Healthy Brownies!

My favorite part of vegan baking is that you can safely lick the batter off the spatula 🙂 I cannot remember how I came across this recipe (probably cruising Pinterest), but it was originally posted on HealthyVeganRecipes.net. I am a huge fan of making recipes when I have all the ingredients in my kitchen. There is nothing worse than coming across a fantastic recipe and not having one or two of the ingredients!  This recipe is super-easy and if the batter is any indication of how the brownies will taste, they should be very good (I wrote this part while they were still in the oven). The final product is also very good! I recommend using a food processor to get the best consistency. I stuck to the original recipe with the exception of the peanut butter; I used almond butter instead.

 

IMG_0032

Healthy Brownie Recipe

Prep time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 30 minutes
Time from start to eating: 45 minutes
Makes 16 brownies

Nutrition Info per Brownie:
178 calories/9g sugar/7g fat/6g protein/271mg sodium

Ingredients

  • 1 14oz can kidney or black beans
  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 cup fresh medjool dates, pitted*
  • 1/2 cup non-dairy milk
  • 1/2 cup natural peanut butter (or any other nut/seed butter)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 cup cocoa and/or carob powder
  • 1/2 cup raisins, dried cranberries or chocolate chips (or a mix of any or all)
  • 1 cup sorghum flour (or any whole grain flour)

*Note: If you prefer, or if you’re not using a food processor, you can replace the dates with 1/2 cup unrefined sugar.

Healthy Brownie Recipe Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F (or your BBQ on low, about 450 degrees F).
  2. Put the beans, banana, dates, milk, nut/seed butter, vanilla and apple cider vinegar in a food processor and puree until smooth. If you don’t have a food processor, you can mash the beans and banana, and chop the dates up as finely as you can. The sweetness won’t be as even as if you puree, so you may want to add some unrefined sugar.
  3. Add the baking powder, soda, cocoa/carob powder and flour and pulse until they’re incorporated. Don’t overmix here. Sprinkle the raisins, cranberries or chocolate chips into the mix and push them into the batter (don’t puree them).
  4. Pour the batter into a greased or lined 8″ brownie dish and put in the oven for 30-40 minutes.
  5. Once the brownies are cooked, pull them from the oven, let them cool completely and then cut into squares and serve. If you want to keep your brownies longer, they freeze very well.
8 thoughts on “FIT His the PAN Friday – Healthy Brownies!

  1. That’s one healthy brownie! I will definitely try this.
    By the way, just yesterday I was baking muffins, licked the spatula, and thought to myself, yup go ahead, no salmonella here! 😉
    Sophia

    • So true! I was never used to being able to do that and when I did the first time, my brain tried to say “no!” My suggestion for these brownies is to add a little extra sweetener or come up with a glaze or non-dairy frosting. They are not sweet at all. I liked them ok but my husband did not 😦

Leave a Reply

