Motivational Monday (on Wednesday)

I was travelling all day Monday so I did not get an opportunity to post! I am one of the few people out there who does not own a laptop. We took a trip to Louisiana for my aunt and uncle’s 25th wedding anniversary. Most of our family was there with the exception of some of the cousins. It was a terrific weekend filled with laughs, tears and FOOD! I have not eaten that much in almost a year (at least not consecutively for 4 days). One thing I can say about Cajun country is that they can cook! My uncle boiled 50 (yes 5-0) pounds of shrimp and smoked five eye of the rounds. This is a picture of us peeling the shrimp.

Shimp

On top of that they had turkey, ham, cakes and pies. I should mention that we hosted a party of about 70 people after the ceremony. However, it was more food than I have seen in one place in a long time. On Sunday, we went to Poupart’s bakery. We make a trip every time we visit! They have several cases of some of the best desserts this side of the Mississippi! This box was for all 8 of us, not just me 😉

Poupart's

You may be asking what this has to do with motivation. I am sad to report that I gained 3 pound this weekend. Between the food and no exercise, it was inevitable. So the motivation part is that I will survive! We all fall off the wagon at some point; it is how quickly you get back up and move on that counts! I will be back at the gym tonight and my normal eating began when I got home. I imagine those pesky pounds won’t be around for long. If you get in a situation where your self-control is nowhere to be found, don’t beat yourself up!

You can always start back where you left off!

Leave a Reply

