The Nutribullet Challenge

OK, so it is not really a challenge per say. As you may have read in past posts, I finally reach my goal weight after several months of hard work (yay!).  As I am sure many of you can relate once we meet that goal it is easy fall back into destructive patterns. Gradually, the sweets and french fries made their way back into my diet and before I knew it the couple of pounds had taken residence once again. I decided to try the Nutribullet not only to lose those couple of pounds but also to increase my nutrition. There are many juicing and emulsifying products available and I am not writing this to encourage you to purchase one or the other. I chose this one based on my research and budget.

IMG_0178[1]

I have made three shakes so far. The first was so-so because I was experimenting. Just like at those “create your own bowl” restaurants, not all flavors work well together. My next two shakes came out really good! I think I am getting the hang of it. The book that came with the blender suggests starting with a 50% base of greens (kale, swiss chard, spinach). Personally, I love the kale and it is virtually flavorless when mixed with the fruits. Then you are instructed to add a variety of fruits and last a “blast” of nuts, flax seed, coconut oil, etc.

Has anyone tried shakes using a Nutribullet or a Vitamix? What are your favorite recipes? Here are the recipes for the two I liked the best (so far :)).

Tropical Shake

  • 1 cup kale, chopped
  • 1/4 cup raspberries
  • 1 small banana
  • 1/4 champagne mange (peeled)
  • 6 slices seedless cucumber with peel
  • 1 scoop Garden of Life – Beyond Organic Raw Protein Powder (Plain)
  • 1 tsp Stevia granules
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/4 cup water

1 Serving

Simple Shake

  • 1 cup kale, chopped
  • 1/2 small banana
  • 5 medium strawberries
  • 1/4 nave orange peeled (the peel is very bitter)
  • 1/2 cup Silk pure coconut milk
  • 1/2 apple cored and seeded
  • 1 scoop Garden of Life – Beyond Organic Raw Protein Powder (Plain)
  • 1/4 cup water

1 Serving

Happy Blending!

One thought on “The Nutribullet Challenge

  1. Pingback: FIT Hits the PAN Friday – Shake, Shake, Shake | Life, Love & Lima Beans

Leave a Reply

