FIT Hits the PAN Friday – Shake, Shake, Shake

bigstock-Fruit-Smoothies-42581494

I mentioned several months ago that I purchased a Nutribullet. I am happy to report that unlike many of the mini-appliances I own, this one has definitely been put to good use. My recipe is pretty much the same every morning although today I tried to get crazy and I was not thrilled with the outcome. The shake itself was good, it was just too sweet for me. I like the tart flavor of citrus fruits as opposed to the sweetness of melons, pears and bananas.

If you do plan on making smoothies and shakes, make sure you have enough ingredients on hand at all times. I purchase organic frozen fruit in bulk and thaw what I need each day. This way I am not wasting food by not using it before it spoils and I am not making trips to the store every couple of days.

The number of shake recipes you can create is unlimited! When you first get started, it may take some trial and error unless you use recipes which I am not very good at doing. I like to fly by the seat of my pants. Here is my favorite recipe! I hope you enjoy and please let me know what shake recipes you recommend!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup organic baby spinach
  • 1 cup frozen organic berries (thawed)
  • 1 cup coconut milk or almond milk
  • 1 scoop protein powder (I rotate between Arbonne Vanilla and Garden of Life Raw Protein)
  • 1 tbsp flax seed meal, hemp seed or chia seed

Here is the one I tried this morning. Let me know what you think!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup organic baby spinach
  • 2 medium stalks celery cut in small pieces
  • 1 bosc pear cut in pieces
  • 1 scoop protein powder
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 banana

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

