The Social Media Illusion

Reception (170)

Today is my second wedding anniversary and as I was writing my ode to my husband on Facebook (it’s not real unless it’s on Facebook, right?), it occurred to me that a follow-up message may need to be posted. My husband and I have a great marriage but it is not without its ups and downs. If you saw our lives on Facebook, you wouldn’t know about of our personal or familial struggles but I promise they are there. Behind the smiles and laughter there has also been heartache, financial struggles, family feuds and all other sorts of everyday hurdles any marriage faces, but no one sees those posts.

Social media websites like Facebook, MySpace, Twitter and Instagram give our followers a glimpse into the world we want them to see. There are those people who feel the need to air every dirty family secret to their cyber friends and family and that is ok; I see it as a new type of web-based counseling session, but that’s not for me. In my selective posts, I control what people see and know about my life.

Don’t get me wrong, we have a great life and are blessed beyond measure. However, it is also important to share our struggles, especially with other women. I am certain there are a number of women with whom I am friends on Facebook and off whose marriages are struggling, they can’t pay their bills, their children are in trouble or their family is in turmoil. Let’s make an effort to reach out to people privately whose posts we see everyday. Underneath their unexplained silence or the cryptic digital postcards, some of them may truly be hurting and need prayer or a friend.

We have been given a gift in social media that we can reach an immeasurable amount of people all over the world instantly. Why not use that power for good and be an ear to those who are hurting? You may have gone through a similar experience and be able to shed some light in their dark world.

Proverbs 17:17
A friend is always loyal, and a brother is born to help in time of need.

Leave a Reply

