Giving Thanks for the Good and the Bad

bigstock-Beach-travel--woman-walking-o-47037820

“Matthew Henry is a well-known Bible commentator. One day he was robbed and that evening made the following entry in his diary: Let me thankful – First, because I was never robbed before. Second, because although they took my wallet,they did not take my life. Third, because although they took my all, it was not much. And fourth, because it was I who was robbed, not I who robbed.”

 

I read this quote during my Bible study last week and since then I have been convicted so many times about my reaction to less than favorable circumstances. Matthew Henry’s outlook on his experience should be one we try to practice daily. No matter how bad we think we have it, there is always someone going through something worse. Be thankful for everything, even when it does not feel like a blessing that that moment. You may find out it was a bigger blessing than you could have ever imagined.

2 thoughts on “Giving Thanks for the Good and the Bad

  1. Sometimes it is hard to see the positive in something negative, but there can’t be an “up” without a “down”, or a “top” without a “bottom”. Therefore there is always a positive outlook in a negative outcome 🙂

Leave a Reply

