FIT Hits the PAN Friday – Quinoa Zucchini Bites

The other night my sweet husband pointed out that I “used to make unique dishes.” I thought, “What? You aren’t happy with chicken every night?” OK, OK I get it. I have been a bit lazy in the kitchen as of late. No worries, that ends now!

I have been eating my weight in zucchini the last couple of weeks. I cannot get enough of it! Thankfully, it is always on sale this time of year.

zucchini

 

 

 

 

 

When I came across this recipe, I was very excited! I should point out that I attempted this receipt earlier in the week and after one too many glasses of wine, fell asleep and left the pan in the oven. Thankfully, the oven was turned off!

Here is attempt #2 🙂 They are delicious and a perfect fit for little hands.

Mini Quinoa Zucchini Cheese Bites

zucchiniquinoa2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Recipe & photo from Sugar-Free Mom

Ingredients

  • 2 cups grated zucchini ( about 1 medium)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan Cheese
  • 1/2 cup cooked quinoa
  • optional: 1/4 cup chopped cilantro, salt & pepper

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray a  mini muffin pan with nonstick cooking spray. In a bowl mix the zucchini, egg, cheese, quinoa and cilantro. I did not add any salt or pepper since the Parmesan is salty enough for us. Evenly divide the mixture into the mini muffin pan filling to the top, packed down in each cup. Bake for 15- 18 minutes until golden brown around the edges. Mine were perfect at 15 minutes.

Nutrition Info

Servings: 16* Calories for one: 27* Fat: 1g* Fiber: 0g* Carbs: 2g* Protein: 2g* Points+: 1*

One thought on “FIT Hits the PAN Friday – Quinoa Zucchini Bites

  1. Pingback: Crisped Zucchini Cakes - Belly Joy

Leave a Reply

