FIT Hits the PAN Friday – Chunky Avocado Lime Salsa

Last weekend, my husband’s co-workers decided they were all going to have a contest for who could make the best salsa. My husband messaged me this recipe from Yammie’s Noshery and asked me to make it. I grumbled for a few minutes because it was not on my schedule (I am mildly OCD when it comes to planning my life), but then I agreed to make the recipe. It was worth an unscheduled grocery trip! I liked it so much that I ended up making a second batch for me to eat at home 🙂 I should have prefaced this entire post with the fact that my husband does not like avocado so this dish was not for him at all (don’t ask).

The flavors of this recipe harmonize beautifully and the lime gives it an extra kick! If you are having  a party, I recommend doubling the recipe because it will not last long! I served this salsa with lime chips per my husband’s request, however I think Stacy’s Simply Naked Pita Chips or plain tortilla chips would be better because they do not have an overpowering flavor.

Side note: Yammie’s website has some incredibly naughty but delicious recipes. She has a talent as a food photographer as well! If you enjoy food photography, take some time to look through her website; you will not be disappointed. 

  • 1 ripe avocado, chopped up
  • Juice of one lime
  • 1 small garlic clove, minced
  • 1/4 cup chopped red onion
  • 1/2 cup corn, thawed if frozen
  • 1/2 cup black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup chopped tomatoes
  • 1 jalapeno, finely chopped
  • Chopped cilantro (I used dried)
  • Salt and pepper
Mix all the ingredients together. Serve with corn chips.
Leave a Reply

