FIT Hits the PAN Friday – Caramelized Onion, Red Pepper and Zucchini Frittata

bigstock-Fresh-Eggs-Vintage-Poster-44559964

This may be one of the easiest dishes I have ever made and according to my husband, one of the best! My friends at Skinnytaste.com knocked it out of the park yet once again. Their website has become my go-to for healthy, delicious recipes. Over the last couple of years, I have tried a ton and have not had one disappointing experience. If you have not discovered the website yet, stop reading and go there now please. My feelings will not be hurt one bit!

Rarely do I cook a dish for which I do not readily have the ingredients available. I work from home so it is not convenient for me to run out to the store during the day. You would think it would be the other way around but Bogey (my dog) and I have a nice little routine and I only get an hour for lunch. When I choose a recipe, it is usually because I have the ingredients in stock and this dish was not any different. The only semi-time-consuming part of this dish is dicing the vegetables so I did that ahead of time. According to the recipe, you can use only egg whites but I followed the original and left the whole eggs since I like the protein and vitamins in the yolk. If you are watching your cholesterol, stick to egg whites!

Enjoy!

Caramelized Onion, Red Pepper and Zucchini Frittata

Servings: 4 • Serving Size: 1/4th • Old Points: 3 pts • Points+: 4 pts
Calories: 157.7 • Fat: 9.3 g • Protein: 14.6 g • Carb: 5.7 g • Fiber: 1.6 g • Sugar: 0.8 g
Sodium: 243 mg (without salt)

Ingredients:

  • 1 white onion, thinly sliced rings
  • 1 medium red pepper, diced
  • 1 1/2 cups zucchini, diced into matchsticks
  • 4 large eggs
  • 4 large egg whites
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese, grated
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • salt and fresh pepper

Directions:

Over medium-low heat, heat oil in a 10-inch skillet. Stir in onion and cook until slightly brown, about 10 minutes. Add peppers and cook 5 more minutes, then add zucchini.Season with salt and pepper and cook 3 more minutes stirring occasionally.

In a medium bowl whisk eggs, egg whites, parmesan, salt and pepper.

Add eggs to the skillet making sure eggs cover all the vegetables. When the edges begin to set (about 2 minutes) move skillet to oven. Cook about 10-15 minutes, or until frittata is completely cooked. Serve warm, cut into 4 pieces.

Leave a Reply

