21 Day Sugar Detox – Day 2

tumblr_maulizccp71rg79ero1_500_large

Some friends and I decided it would be “fun” to do the 21 Day Sugar Detox this month. Other than spending way too much money on foods I don’t normally buy, it has not been so bad. Keep in mind, we are only on Day 2. Why a sugar detox you ask? If you scroll through past posts, I love a good challenge! Frankly, I get bored just eating “normal” stuff every day. Once or twice a year, I challenge myself to something new; Engine 2 Diet, Daniel Fast and now Sugar Detox. So far, it hasn’t been that bad. I like sugar and breads but I am not missing them (yet). My husband brought home a key lime pie and it hasn’t even tempted me. The only think I think I will miss is wine and beer, but I can do anything for 21 days, right? For more about the dangers of sugar, check out this post I wrote a couple of years ago, “I love you sugar, but you have to go!”

I came across this little gem when I was seeking out recipes. I apologize in advance but I did not print the source so in the interest of full disclosure, this recipe is mot mine! If you happen to know where it came from, please let me know so I can give them credit!

It is 21 DSD compliant, so enjoy!

Almost Fudge

Ingredients

  • 1 c. melted coconut butter
  • 1 c. pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 c. almond butter
  • 1/4 c. cacao powder
  • 2 1/2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Directions

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix well.
Spread in parchment lined loaf pan and refrigerate for at least 3 hours.

Cut in small squares and serve.

Leave a Reply

