Kitchen – 1: Jenn – 1

Last night was our anniversary and we are actually celebrating this weekend but I decided to make something great for dinner (with what I had in the fridge of course). I found a terrific low-carb Cheesy Broccoli Chicken Casserole. Upon first inspection, I had all the ingredients. It wasn’t until I started making the dish that I realized 1) my ricotta was bad, 2) I was out of mozzarella and 3) I missed the part of the recipe where I was supposed to use cooked chicken. Easy fixes, right? Not so much. I subbed extra sour cream for the ricotta and just used raw chicken and figured it would cook in the oven. The dish was really watery and had no flavor. My sweet husband did eat it (it didn’t taste bad, it just didn’t taste much like anything). Here is the actual recipe if you want to try it the correct way 🙂 Let me know how it turns out. The upside is that it made enough for me to use some in my omelette this morning and tonight, we are having broccoli, chicken and cheese calzones. Problem solved!

sweetpotatosoup Photo Credit: thclothesmakethegirl.com

My win last night was Paleo Sweet Potato Soup. Let me begin by saying if I only had one food to eat for the rest of my life, it would probably be bacon. My life would be shortened significantly so it doesn’t seem too extreme. The combination of the sweet potato and bacon is divine; plus, it is a super easy recipe. I am excited to have it for lunch!

Not every night in the kitchen can be a success. The key is not getting down on yourself when you do not turn out a masterpiece.

Cheers!

One thought on “Kitchen – 1: Jenn – 1

Leave a Reply

