The Best Defense is a Great Offense

34800-Pray-Without-Ceasing

Over the last several months I have been bombarded with prayer requests from friends and family going through some very scary and heart-breaking events. I have always considered myself the “fixer” when things are broken; relationships, financial problems, health issues, etc. These recent events have been so complex that the Lord has humbled me and the only thing I have been able to do is pray. There are no quick fixes and frankly, I am out of answers. As these events have been unfolding, the Holy Spirit revealed to me that my problem has been that prayer should have always been my first defense, not my last. In his letter to the Thessalonians, Paul told them to “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” (emphasis added). We are given this admonition throughout scripture.

Psalm 55:22 ” Cast your burden on the Lord and He shall sustain you; He shall never permit the righteous to be moved.”

Philippians 4:6 “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God.”

Romans 8:26  Likewise the Spirit also helps in our weaknesses. For we do not know what we should pray for as we ought, but the Spirit Himself makes intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.”

May our hearts be turned toward our Creator so that our first defense is Him! May our finite minds stop trying to “figure out” our infinite God. May we bow in prayer first to the One who was, is and forever shall be!

Psalm 121:1-2
“I will lift up my eyes to the hills—
From whence comes my help?
My help comes from the Lord,
Who made heaven and earth.”

Leave a Reply

