I <3 Cooking!

Over the last couple of weeks, my cooking bug is back. I can’t stop printing and saving recipes that I want to make in the very near future. Even more exciting is that I am creating my own! Monday night I made grass fed beef meatloaf and today I made a lovely apple, jicama, carrot salad. I did not photograph the meatloaf and the picture of the salad is just terrible. Please forgive me :-/ Normally, I share recipes on Friday but since I am cooking so much I figured I would have some new ones for you by then.

In past posts, I have mentioned SaladMaster and the fantastic tool I received for hosting a dinner party at my home. We ended up purchasing the cookware at another party because we loved it so much. The reason I mention this is because I used the SaladMaster machine to grate all my ingredients for the salad. A hand grater will work just fine, just watch your knuckles!

Apple, Carrot & Jicama Salad

Apple slaw

  • 1 medium apple (I prefer Fuji but any kind will do) shredded
  • 2 organic carrots shredded
  • 1 small jicama shredded
  • 1 tbsp lemon zest
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 2 tsp poppy seeds

Directions

Combine shredded lemon zest, apple, carrots and jicama in a medium bowl. Add lemon juice and mix well to coat the fruit. This will help keep the salad from browning and adds terrific flavor! Sprinkle the poppy seeds on last. Enjoy!

Check back tomorrow for the Grass Fed Beef Meatloaf recipe!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

